Lots of irons in the fire

Almost a whole month has passed since the Montreal retreat, which was a nice break from the day to day in Toronto. I felt I communicated everything I set out to do, which is really hard in a 15 minute talk. Despite being the final speaker in a very full day, I managed to draw some good questions from the audience, so clearly a few people were paying attention. Interest from others is a good sign, it makes me feel as if I am on to something worthwhile.

I can hardly believe how fast the summer is passing by. This rapidity is surely due in part to how much work has consumed my life lately. I’ve got several tasks currently on my mind, in different stages of completion:

  1. Finishing the genome-wide analysis for two other nuclear phenotypes that are detectable with our markers.
  2. Exploratory data analysis for a collaboration with some folks from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine (way behind on this one, sorry!)
  3. Preparing for my big committee meeting at the end of the summer, for which I need to write a review paper and present a sketch of one or two ideas to be explored.
  4. Figuring out how to expedite model checking and fitting on a few different data sets (mostly got this covered, thanks in a big way to mlcomp.org)
  5. Figuring out if there is a covariate shift problem affecting one portion of our data set. It certainly seems like there is, but I should make sure more carefully before figuring out what to do about it. Found a paper in JMLR which seems promising (Bickel et al, JMLR 2009)
  6. Getting a poster together for a yeast cell biology meeting at CSHL in August

And then of course there’s day to day life, tasks and jobs too small to be listed, and just making time to enjoy summer. I’m hoping to check off a few of these by mid to late June, leaving the next month or so for reading papers and composing my thoughts about promising research ideas for the August committee meeting. Here’s to a slower, more thoughtful summer.

